The Nations Cup travels to Belgium

csio barcellona 2018.png

The Belgian team has been proclaimed  winner of the Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup Final,

the most important equestrian team competition of the year, in an exciting final that has taken place this afternoon on the Olympic rack of the Real Club de Polo de Barcelona.

Until the last obstacle of the last course, the winner has not been decided. The Italian team would have had the possibility of winning their first Nations Cup had

Lorenzo de Luca completed his course without penalty. Alas, the Italian rider knocked down the last two obstacles when he was already caressing the title.

This allowed Belgium, with 12 points, to win the Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup, and left the Italian team in fourth position. France placed second and th Ireland, third, all with 16 points of penalty, in the competition that closed the 107th edition of CSIO Barcelona.

The Belgian team was formed by Niels Bruynseels (with Gancia de Muze), Pieter Devos (Claire Z), Jos Velrooy (Caracas) and Nicola Philippaerts (H & M Harley V. Bisschop), with Peter Weinberg as Chef d'Equipe.

CaixaBank Trophy: victory for the Netherlands

 The Dutch rider Frank Schuttert, riding Claus Dieter, was the winner of the Caixabank Trophy, the competition that opened the last day of CSIO Barcelona on the Olympic course of the Real Club de Polo de Barcelona. Schuttert completed the two courses without penalty, being the fastest in the second round. Compatriot Maiken van der Vleuten, with Beauville Z, has classified just beahind, while the Italian Giulia Martinengo (Elzas) and the Belgian Wilm Vermeir (Gentiane de la Pomme) have shared the third place at the end of the second time.

 With the spectacular closing ceremony of the legendary French DJ, Bob Sinclar, who has offered an exclusive concert on the Olympic track, the 107th edition of CSIO Barcelona has concluded.

Pictures: Nacho Olano

More Info:

Isabel Suter


Centri Ippici